Posted by: Debbra Dunning Brouillette | May 13, 2010

Mopion Islet, Grenadines – My tropical isle has a name…

Mopion islet, Grenadines: My tropical isle has a name…

The photograph above, which is the banner for my website, www.wordjourneys.net, is one I took in the Grenadines in 2004. It is one of my favorites. I look at it and am immediately transported back to the day I took it, following a dive on the reefs nearby. Only recently did I find it had a name – Mopion islet – and that it is somewhat famous, having been photographed for “dozens of magazine covers” and written up in a Caribbean Travel & Life article about “dream beaches of the Caribbean.”

Variously described as “the quintessential ‘deserted island'” and as “a dollop of sand surrounded by a transparent sea,” Mopion is located near the private resort island of Petit St. Vincent, and not far from Palm Island, the private resort island where I stayed in early December ’04, when I unwittingly captured this photo following a dive on nearby reefs.

If you’d like to read more about Mopion islet and see more photos about it and the two private island resorts that are nearby, go to this link to read my Examiner.com article about it:

http://www.examiner.com/x-12498-Tropical-Travel-Examiner~y2010m5d2-Mopion-islet-Grenadines-my-tropical-isle-has-a-name

Responses

  1. It’s MY island…ha ha. Very nice photo you took.


Leave a Reply

Categories

